Monday, July 26, 2010

The 2010 Eisner Awards

The Eisner Awards are, to borrow an award-show-comparing cliche, a bit like the Oscars of the comics industry. All the Eisner Awards are missing, really, is the nationally televised awards show. They get the next best thing, though: a ceremony held at San Diego Comic-Con.

The 2010 ceremony - the award's 22nd year - was held this weekend. Taking a look at the winners, as well as the nominees, is a good way to get a glimpse at some of the best comics of the past year.

Below is a selection of some of the winners. A full list can be found at the official Comic-Con International site.

Best Single Issue (or One-Shot)
Captain America #601: "Red, White, and Blue-Blood," by Ed Brubaker and Gene Colan

Best Continuing Series
The Walking Dead, by Robert Kirkman Charles Adlard

Best Limited Series or Story Arc
The Wonderful Wizard of Oz, by Eric Shanower and Skottie Young

Best New Series
Chew, by John Layman and Rob Guillory

Best Graphic Album - New
Asterios Polyp, by David Mazzuccheilli

Best U.S. Edition of International Material
The Photographer, by Emmanuel Guibert, Didier Lefèvre, and Frédéric Lemerier

Best U.S. Edition of International Material - Asia
A Drifting Life, by Yoshihiro Tatsumi

No comments:

Post a Comment